Lesson #2: Water- resistant shoe sprays

It was a typical Holland day. Everyone was covered in their raincoats by the rain. For half an hour the rain was surprisingly heavy. Other than that, just sprays.

There is no such thing as waiting for the rain to stop, in Holland. Unless you’d like to wait three to four days. 

I was walking with a flimsy umbrella turned upside down. I walked with my own personal rainwater harvesting system until the wind blew the umbrella back into its orginal shape and had me soaking. I could hear a squeaking follow me everywhere until I realized they were my own beloved shoes.
It was getting cold. Looking for cover wasn’t helping because then the cold breeze gets you. I’m lucky enough to find myself on Kalverstraat where all the clothing and shoe stores are. 

Ok experimenter, put a number to your budget and don’t go overboard. I know everything looks nice but do you really need it? 

I see the bright white high top converse and right below it, a replica for less than half the price of the original. This is a good number. 

Now I’m still walking around in my soaking shoes holding on to my new pair. I was too shy to leave with them on at the store. I am still new to the culture here, don’t want to offend anyone.

When I found a bench to sit on and change into my new shoes, I thought- this could’ve been a bad day but I quiet enjoyed running in the rain.

Lesson #2 in the Netherlands: Always leave the house with an umbrella, a raincoat and gum boots/ water resistant sprayed shoes. It may look sunny from the second floor but, the weather may change by the time you get out on the street.

Leave a comment