II: Roma, the small things

There is a certain energy that you are hit with when you travel, one that may bring you on the brink of insanity.

There is a lot of information from the past 2 months of my time. I do not know it well enough to comment on the tangible qualities but, I feel it when I close my eyes. I have so many happy places I could go to when I need it in my mind. The image is not required. It is sometimes easier to re- imagine the smells, sounds and feelings when you feel the need to go back. It is an unaccompanied memory but, that has you feeling lighter when it comes and goes.

All these Roman ruins can be seen by those who walk away with their photos but without a lesson from the monuments. Those left behind by empires that have risen and fallen. We like to think of it as history but, do not see the temporariness of our present lives.

Hundred thousands, stand in a long sweaty line to go in and read of the history. Sometimes, don’t look for guidance through words. Look at these bricks for what they really are. Trust your instincts enough to know that these will tell you more than those large banners. You may surprise yourself.

Everything except the obvious, is so blatant in our world today. We cannot trust anything except for what is shoved in our faces. We do not think to look further.

A 4 am walk through Rome, past the Colosseum. Isn’t it frightening how beautiful these monuments look without people around?

I’m at the large old doors of my hostel. I decode all the entrance doors to finally sink into my comfortable bed. I sink back into another part of the world.

I open my eyes to a familiar face. There are kind eyes watching me as I gulp down something that looks like soup but I am too hungry to ask. Her frail hands point towards a room with a dim light. I smile and thank her for her hospitality.

Its perfect, and I feel safe in the middle of nowhere. 

I’m up, last day in Rome. Starting it off with saying goodbye to my regular breakfast cafe. My friends there gift me a pastry, as a way of saying ‘hey you’re alright’.

The gesture gives one a warm, cozy feeling. I walk with this happy little thought- the small things do matter.

Leave a comment