Almost an incident: The exaggerated almost

Each event could lead to an infinite number of results.

This may be exemplified when I almost got thrown 20 feet in the air by a bull . In reality, my red coloured scarf attracted a bull that has otherwise walked peacefully beside me many times. I turned around to see two horns move closer to me at a speed that allowed me to react to the situation in a sensible manner- running for my life. I did not have to run  longer than 3 seconds thanks to an experienced shepherd who screamed in a Daedalean tone to change the bull’s mind.

As I walked away cautiously, I found myself thinking of the multiple possibilities of that event, how much pain I could have been in right now, and how this story would be told all over the village.
“Girl flies in Tilonia” could be the hot topic around chai time.
Everyone would speak of how terrible the incident is. I could have found the entire incident humorous inspite of the injuries.

Much more humorous in this moment because, it did not happen.

This same situation may have lead to me running for longer, with the  bull charged towards me. In this situation, I presume that my athlete days would’ve kicked back in and I would’ve sprinted. I would’ve decided not to turn around and seen how far the bull is behind me.
This would’ve caused me to run past many known faces even after the
bull has decided to give up on its target.
The chai time topic could be “Girl runs from ghost in Tilonia”. The
questions following this event could have become an anecdote I’d tell
for the next few days.

 

Since, I have decided to take it one step further in each story- the bull could’ve come right at me and I could’ve decided to stand right there. When it comes close enough, I hold it by it horns. My super human strength kicks in and this bull starts to regret its decision to
attack me. We have nothing personal against eachother but, this is a fight for survival. My survival, at least. People gather around. They are stunned. They cannot believe their eyes. All their preconceived notions of a woman’s physical strength- tossed into abyss. Chai time topic-“Potential wrestling champion to represent India at the Olympics”.

Another sequel- The ox charged at me, I never turned around. Something stabbed me in the back. I fell unconscious, unaware of what happened. The bull continued to attack me.

By the time people could help, it was too late.

I am in a space that I cannot conceive the area nor dimension of. It may be difficult for me to even call it a space because of my limited understanding of this dimension. There’s no sound. It isn’t lit up, nor is it dark. I could perceive it as a bubble and walk with my hands
to guide me. I notice that I have no hands.

I am a bubble. There is a sense of serenity and a lack of eagerness to  find out how I got here. I move towards something that looks like a bright light and sigh at how cliched this all might be. A disappointment that this story was right all along and there is no
real surprise, rushes over me.

I am at the light now and realise I’m at the surface of another bubble and beyond that are other bubbles orbiting my bubble. It reminds me of the solar system. Wait a minute, those are electrons. I am excited again at this possibility. There is no heaven nor hell nor dark
nothingness.

 

Holy shit, I’m in the nucleus of an atom and I’m a neutron. I am surrouded by super positive sub- atomic particles. I look around for more neutron buddies. I see them, they’re all cornered. Neither of us are happy nor sad to see eachother because hey, we’re neutrons.

These different possible results of that event taught me something- do not wear any hues of red when in grazing grounds.

Leave a comment